I’m homebrewing now:

Bleach bathing bottles for more homebrewing.

If you told the me of last year that I’d be doing this, I’d tell you “No way, I ain’t no kind of hipster like that.” (Seriously, those exact words.) But here I am, cleaning and bottling, lovingly tending a colony!scoby named after Iggy Koopa, making fermented fizzy lifting drinks.

It’s the hobby I didn’t know I needed. In addition to giving me healthy drinks, homebrewing my own water kefir brings me much needed relaxation. The process becomes almost automatic, until the moment where I have to pick a flavor — then things get exciting. There are so many options, from plain apple to the allure of elderberry. It’s the real world equivalent of a crafting profession, and the grind is good.

Add to the story…

